How much does a cold email agency cost?
Updated
GrowthPal cold email engagements run $3,000 to $10,000 per month, in US dollars, which is the same range GrowthPal publishes for the market as a whole. Figures as of September 30, 2026.
This page explains what moves that number, and what the same infrastructure costs if you buy it yourself at list prices. GrowthPal publishes the range but not a fixed price, and the reason is on the FAQ: scope moves with market size and volume, so where an engagement lands inside the range depends on the build. The exact figure comes from a quote, after seeing your market. Four variables explain almost the whole spread: market size, the sending volume it requires, how many message angles get tested, and whether the sending infrastructure is included or billed to you separately.
At a glance
| What you are buying | Typical published range |
|---|---|
| Monthly retainer for a full system | $3,000–$10,000 per month |
| Pay per held meeting | $200–$800 per meeting |
| Commission only | Offered by some agencies. GrowthPal does not take it, for the reason below |
| Sending infrastructure, bought yourself | See the arithmetic below |
The retainer and per-meeting ranges are GrowthPal's own published view of the market, from the 2026 benchmarks. GrowthPal engagements fall inside the retainer range. They are not a quote: the figure for a specific engagement comes after seeing your market.
What actually drives the price?
Four variables move a cold email quote more than anything else, and any agency that quotes without asking about them is guessing. Market size sets how much testing is possible. Volume sets how much sending infrastructure is needed. The number of message angles sets how much writing and analysis happens. And whether infrastructure is included decides whether the retainer is the whole bill or only part of it.
- Market size. Roughly 30,000+ reachable contacts is where there is room to test properly. A smaller market needs less volume and less infrastructure.
- Sending volume. Capacity is arithmetic, not preference. The inbox calculator turns your target volume into the number of inboxes and domains it requires.
- Angles tested. Ten to fifteen angles means ten to fifteen pieces of research and writing, then classification of every reply that comes back.
- Infrastructure in or out. Domains, inboxes, warmup, data and verification are a real monthly bill whoever pays it.
What does the sending infrastructure cost on its own?
Sending infrastructure is the part most comparisons skip, and it is the part you pay either way. The arithmetic below uses GrowthPal's own published capacity figures and the list prices of two named vendors, so you can check every line.
GrowthPal's best documented month ran 162,867 sends on roughly 110 inboxes across 40 to 50 domains. Buying that yourself, at list price:
| Line | Basis | Monthly |
|---|---|---|
| 110 inboxes | Google Workspace Business Starter, $7.00 per user per month list price | $770 |
| Sending platform | Instantly Lightspeed, $358 per month for up to 500,000 emails | $358 |
| 40–50 sending domains | Registrar fees | Not stated |
| Data, enrichment and verification | Varies with list size and provider | Not stated |
| Partial total | Inboxes and sending platform only | $1,128 |
That $1,128 is a floor, not a budget. It excludes domains, data, verification and every hour of human work: list engineering, writing ten to fifteen angles, warming the inboxes for four to six weeks before any of it carries volume, watching deliverability daily and classifying replies. At smaller volumes the numbers fall roughly in proportion, because inbox count is driven by sends.
What is in the build, and what is ongoing?
A cold email engagement has a one-off shape and a recurring shape, and conflating them is how quotes get compared badly. The build is domains, inboxes, warmup, list engineering and the first set of message angles. It takes two to four weeks before anything sends. The ongoing work is sending, testing further angles, watching deliverability and classifying replies, which does not stop.
What is included in a GrowthPal retainer?
GrowthPal includes the sending infrastructure in the retainer by default. Domains, inboxes, warmup, data and verification are covered, which is the $1,128 per month floor set out above. The reason is practical rather than commercial: that stack needs technical attention most clients would rather not staff, and splitting it slows the work down. Clients who would rather hold the infrastructure in their own accounts can, and GrowthPal will run it there instead.
Included in the retainer
- Sending domains and inboxes
- Warmup and deliverability monitoring
- Data and email verification
- List engineering and message angles
- Reply classification
Not included
- Your own CRM and its seats
- Paid media and list purchases
- Anything outside outbound
Ownership does not change either way. The domains, inboxes and campaign data are the client's. If an engagement ends, GrowthPal transfers everything and sets it up inside the client's own systems. Minimum engagement is three months. Figures as of September 30, 2026.
Which pricing model should you choose?
| Model | What it suits | What to watch |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly retainer | Building a channel you keep | Confirm what happens to the domains and data if you stop |
| Per held meeting | Buying pipeline without building capability | Define "held" precisely, and who decides |
| Per lead | Volume with a clear quality bar | Without a quality bar this is the easiest model to game |
| Commission only | Shifting all risk to the agency | GrowthPal does not take it. Research, infrastructure and writing all happen before the first reply, and that work needs paying for |
What does a bad deal look like?
Three patterns cost more than they appear to. Per-lead pricing with no quality bar rewards volume over fit, and you pay for it twice: once in fees and again in your team's time. Shared sending domains mean another client's mistake lands on your reputation. And an agency that reports opens and clicks rather than classified replies is reporting the numbers that are easy to move rather than the ones that predict revenue.
One more, harder to spot: no stated definition of what counts as a positive reply. GrowthPal publishes its definition, including what is excluded from every count. Ask for the same before you compare two agencies' numbers, because without it you are comparing different things.
Why does GrowthPal publish a range but still quote?
Because market size, sending volume, the number of angles tested and whether infrastructure is included move the scope enough that a single published number would be wrong for most readers. A company with 30,000 reachable contacts and one buyer persona needs a materially different build from one with 300,000 and four. The range is honest at the level of a range; the figure inside it is not knowable until the market is seen. So GrowthPal publishes the range, then gives a fixed quote after seeing your market, and before you commit to anything. That position is set out on the FAQ.
Sources
- Google Workspace Business plan list pricing, $7.00 / $14.00 / $22.00 per user per month: Google Workspace pricing. A 10% introductory discount applies to new customers for 12 months on the first 20 users; the list price is used above. Read September 21, 2026.
- Instantly outreach plan pricing, $47 / $97 / $358 per month with published send limits: Instantly pricing. Read September 21, 2026.
- Retainer and per-meeting ranges, capacity figures and the 162,867-send reference month: GrowthPal's own published figures, defined at how the numbers on this site are counted.
Vendor pricing changes without notice. Figures last verified September 21, 2026. Prices are US dollars at list.
Frequently asked questions about cost
GrowthPal gets asked four questions more than any others about price: whether there is a minimum, what happens to the infrastructure at the end, why cheaper quotes exist, and whether the retainer covers the infrastructure at all.
Is there a minimum engagement?
Yes. GrowthPal engagements run for a minimum of three months. That is not arbitrary: two to four weeks go on the build before anything sends, then four to six weeks of warmup and testing. An engagement shorter than three months cannot reach an answer, so the commercial minimum and the practical one are the same number.
Who owns the domains and data at the end?
You do. The sending domains, the inboxes and the campaign data are yours when the engagement ends. That matters commercially: the infrastructure is most of what the build pays for, and keeping it means a later in-house hire starts from a working system rather than from nothing.
Why are some agencies much cheaper?
Usually one of three reasons, none of them sinister: they share sending infrastructure across clients, they run fewer message angles, or they bill the infrastructure to you separately so the headline retainer looks smaller. Ask which applies before comparing two quotes, because they are not measuring the same thing.
Does the retainer include the sending infrastructure?
In GrowthPal's case, yes: domains, inboxes, warmup, data and verification are included in the retainer by default, and a client who would rather hold them in their own accounts can. Ask any other agency, because they differ and it is the single biggest reason two quotes are not comparable. Domains, inboxes, warmup, data and verification are a real recurring bill. An agency that excludes them can show a smaller headline number while your total spend is the same or higher.
Get a fixed quote on a 30-minute call →
Or compare the alternative first: agency versus an in-house SDR.